“No!”

Henry has started stringing words together lately. “It’s me”, “I do it” and “I’m fine” upon being asked how he is on the phone.

He’s so very capable at such a young age, and I find it very exciting.

Henry also, like most toddlers his age, says “no” a lot. An awful lot. He pushes food, toys, even us away at times, shaking his little head and thrusting his podgy, little hand up to emphasise his point.

There is definitely that toddler defiance in him starting to show. He’s a cheeky rascal though, and will continue to grin at you the whole time.

He has started listening to me more though. When he first learnt to walk, anywhere was fair game in his head. If he can reach it, he can have it, and if he can’t reach then he can point and call for mummy to help.

But when I say something is dangerous, he’ll listen. He won’t touch the oven, he won’t pull wires or grab things like he used to. We have three stairs in our split-level flat, and when he goes down them he gets down on all-fours, with his back to the stairs about 3ft away, and slowly reverses down them.

I am proud of my little munchkin, and he is well-behaved 99% of the time, which is the most I can ask for really.

When I was pregnant, I thought “I’m going to have a baby”. It never even occurred to me that I would then have a toddler, a child, a teenager…

It’s okay – I have a few years to get to grips with that.

Leave a Reply

